Yarn Wrapped Letter

E6

Today’s project will be brought to you by the letter E. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

Anyways, I started this project thinking, “oh, this will be a nice and easy little project that I can whip out really quick. I mean, you just wrap yarn around a letter, right? How hard could it be?”

This project sucked. In fact, in the spirit of full disclosure, by the end of the first day of working on this project I was calling it the Devil’s craft project. In retrospect that may have been a smidgen on the dramatic side, but, just be aware that you are going to need to employ some serious patience, (or pigheadedness, as was the case with me) if you decide to take this task on.

Supplies You Will Need:

Letter(s) of your choice
Yarn
Hot Glue Gun
Hot Glue Sticks
Scissors
Embellishments

I am not going to provide a full tutorial for this project, mostly because I was too frustrated to stop and take pictures of the process, but also because there is no right or wrong way to wrap your letter, at least as far as I can tell. I found this tutorial if you would like to follow some more step-by-step type of instructions, but you’ll find that even she had some difficulty wrapping her letter perfectly.

I am just going to provide some advice and basically share my experience with this project. First of all, hot glue is going to be your best friend. It basically saved my sanity and ensured that the end result didn’t turn out looking like a kindergarten arts and crafts reject. Not, that I would ever reject a kindergartener’s arts and crafts project… but I digress.

Start by tying off a section of the yarn around an inside section of your letter. Then just wrap until you get to a stopping point. Do this to all the different little sections.

E

FYI, you are going to have to do multiple layers. It is the only way to ensure every part of the letter is covered in yarn. So, be sure to cover as much of the letter as you can going in one direction before you start going in another direction. It will ensure a more polished end result. I ended up having to do 3 layers because it took me a while to figure this out.

E1
This was my first layer.

I struggled (for longer than I would like to admit) to get the yarn to cover the slopping angles before I finally got out my hot glue gun, with the basic attitude that, dammit I was going to make this stupid yarn letter work, or so help me!

E2

For the most part, with the help of the hot glue, it turned out ok. As you can see it has its problems.

E3

But that is where the embellishments come in to save the day!

E4

See! Now you can barely see the imperfections and it really did turn out pretty cute, if I do say so myself!

E5

I am planning to make this piece the center of my previously mentioned collage wall for Edythe’s room. I will post more pictures once the whole collage is finished.

One thought on “Yarn Wrapped Letter

  1. Pingback: Edythe’s Nursery | Tiffercolabear

Leave a Reply

