Picnic Basket Makeover

I’ve always kind of had a thing against maternity pics. There has just never been anything appealing to me about having a professional, expensive photographer come in and snap pictures of my naked stretch-marked belly with little baby blocks hanging out on top of it. Or worse yet, my entire naked body artfully posed to cover my “naughty” parts while still showing off the, again I reiterate, giant stretch-marked belly! Throw a naked husband in there and some gender specific colored bows and BLECH! barftastic! Then what, you order giant prints of your nakedness and hang them up in your living room? AWKWARD! Or you print them out and hang them in your baby’s room?! One word – therapy. So anyways, I said early on in this pregnancy there will be NO maternity photo shoot! However, having had my little rant, I have started to see some very classy and beautiful maternity photo shoots emerging which finally made me say, well, maybe.

So I messaged my photographer and basically said, we will be doing a “maternity” photo shoot but I want it to be simple and classy. Absolutely NO cheese! Basically, it will just be photos of my husband and I where I will happen to be pregnant. She agreed and we are on! We have decided we will be doing a little picnic setup for the shoot so, planner that I am, I started putting together a list of “props” we would need to make this work. The first thing on my list: an old-fashioned picnic basket!

If you are in the market for a cute picnic basket, be prepared, the little suckers are rather pricy! I couldn’t bring myself to spend $60 on a picnic basket that we would probably use once. So I got on KSL and searched their classifieds for antique picnic baskets and found this little cutie for $5!

picnic basket

I actually forgot to get a picture of the outside before I started working on it, I know, I need to get better on taking pictures, but once I get excited about a project I just need to get up and go! Anyways, my husband thought we should just use the basket as it was when I purchased it, to which I responded – EW!

PB

Not only was that fabric old and covered in food stains, but sure-as-shit when I took all that fabric out if I didn’t find a dead spider carcass just hanging out between the basket and fabric! I had the weeby-jeebies for the rest of that night I can tell you!

PB1

PB2

Taking the fabric out was really easy. It was just a matter of finding and un-stitching the previous stitches.

PB3

Next, came the fun part! I picked out a pretty new fabric and got down to work. I simply placed the basket on top of the fabric and traced the base and top of the basket. I cut out these pieces and laid them aside. Using my measuring tape I measured from the base of the basket to the rim, and again from the top to the rim. Then I measured around the circumference of the basket. I cut 2 strips of fabric about a half an inch longer than the measurements I just took. Next, I took the base piece I had cut and the strip for the base and sewed them together at the edges of the base so that they were facing each other and sewed the strip together at the point it met. I placed this into the base of the basket. Using illusion wire, I sewed the base of the fabric where the two pieces met into the corner of the base of the basket. You can hardly see the illusion wire. Next, I folded under the top of the fabric so it just came to a point where it met the rim of the basket and sewed that in place with the illusion wire as well. I repeated all these steps for the top of the basket and PRESTO-WHAMO! I had myself a cute little picnic basket!

PB4

I will post more photos of the basket in use along with the pics from my upcoming “maternity” photo shoot!

One thought on “Picnic Basket Makeover

Leave a Reply

