Baseball Baby Blanket

baseball1

A few weeks ago I shared a great tutorial I had found for a football baby blanket. I loved it so much that I wanted to make a whole school gym locker worth of different sports blankets for my child and thought I would start out with baseball. My baby girl’s room, clothes and name may be all girl but there’s no reason she can’t enjoy her sports too!

Now I am not going to lie, I am not a huge baseball fan, but I do enjoy the occasional local Bee’s game and my husband, father-in-law and brother-in-law are all die-hard Red Sox fans (that should explain our dog’s name of Boston) and so I started her blanket.

I could not find a tutorial out there for this, but after making the football blanket I had a pretty good idea on how to get started. So, shall we?

Supplies You Will Need:

-Circle Pattern
-Stitch pattern
-1 yard white minky fabric
-1 yard flannel or fleece fabric
-1/4 yard red flannel or fleece
-Coordinating thread
-Sewing Machine
-Ruler or Measuring Tape
-Scissors

Start by printing out your pattern pieces. I found this nifty little pattern online and you can use it for just about anything round! I cut my fabric at the 35″ mark which means you will need to print pages 3-11. This just barely fit the 1 yard of minky fabric, so if you want a bigger blanket you will need a lot more fabric. Tape the pattern pieces together and cut the pattern on the 35″ line.

I am going to refer back to the Football Blanket Tutorial here. Lay your 1 yard of minky fabric down flat. Fold it in half long ways, then fold it in half again. Place your pattern on top of the folded fabric so the corner of the pattern meets the corner of the folds on the fabric. Now cut your fabric along the pattern line. Repeat these steps for your coordinating flannel/fleece fabric. I forgot to take pictures of these steps, but if you are confused you can refer to the Football tutorial. She illustrates the process perfectly.

The next part is going to be a little more difficult to explain. Luckily, I have pictures to help illustrate my kinda kooky methods!

1. Lay your white minky fabric flat. Now, lay your 1/4 of red fabric (folded in half long ways) flat on top of your minky fabric, about 10″ in from the side. Fold your minky fabric over the top of the red fabric as illustrated.

baseball

2. Trace the outline of your minky fabric lightly onto your fleece/flannel fabric. I use chalk for most tracing needs. Now move your minky fabric down about an inch so that it is perpendicular to the traced line. Trace this new edge. Remove your minky fabric and cut out the arch you just made. Remember your red fabric should still be folded in half so you should end up with 2 identical arches after you have completed cutting.

arches

3. Pin your newly created arches to the top of your minky fabric. I placed the center of each arch about 10″ in from each side.

baseball2.1

4. Sew your arches down. You want a very small seam allowance on these so they don’t fold over. Set aside.

5. Now, you are going to need to cut out the “stitches” for the baseball. I am sure there is an easier way to do this part, but this is the way I did it, so this is they way I will show you. I hand drew the stitches, but then I created this little “pattern” for later use. So print this out and you are going to need to cut 40 of these.

stitches2

6. Once you have completed cutting out your stitches you will need to pin them down to the minky. You want them overlapping the arches just a bit, so that they are sewn together without a gap. You should have 20 stitches for each arch, 10 on each side. I don’t have an exact measurement for the placement of these stitches but you want them alternating so they are not directly across from each other, ya know, make em’ look like stitches on a baseball. I might have taken the alternating a little too far but I still like the way it turned out.

stitches

7. The next part is the hardest. I guess I don’t know if “hard” is the right word, but definitely the most time-consuming. Sew those stitches down! Again, I am sure there is probably an easier way to do this, and if you have suggestions please feel free to leave them in the comments below. Otherwise, just stitch around each individual piece leaving the same seam allowance as on the arches. Remember, you will want to sew the ends of the stitches directly on the arches or it will leave a white gap between them, which will look pretty weird.

baseball3

Now I don’t know about you, but I will admit, I felt a certain level of self-satisfaction at this point! Looking damn good if I do say so myself! So of course, this is where I messed up. I’m going to say it, and a lot of you are probably going to have a DUH! moment, but just in case any of you out there have had as little experience working with minky as I had, had at this point let me say this: DO NOT IRON MINKY FABRIC!!! REPEAT – IT DOES NOT LIKE HEAT!!! If you’ll notice the giant crease down the center of the blanket in the last picture, that was driving my OCD – Perfectionist self CRAZY! So I grabbed my iron and went to work.

A picture is worth a thousand words :(

A picture is worth a thousand words 😦

Anyways, all I could do at this point was laugh at my stupidity and keep going. I had spent too much money and time on this thing at this point to quit now! So onward! For those of you (which is hopefully ALL of you if you are actually reading this post and/or are not dumb like me) that have NOT messed up your blanket, you should have just ended step 7.

8. Lay your minky blanket on a flat surface face-up. Lay your coordinating fleece/flannel fabric on top of your minky face-down. The two fabrics should be facing each other at this point. Pin these in place. You will want to use quite a few pins as the minky fabric can be quite slippery and you want to keep the edges as lined up as possible.

9. Sew the two fabrics together. I used about a 3/4 inch seam for this. I really just eye-balled it. You just don’t want to go too far in or it will significantly shrink the size of your finished blanket. Do not sew the pieces closed yet. Leave about a 6 inch gap.

seam

10. Turn your blanket right side out by pulling the fabric through the gap you just left. Make sure you press all the edges out and down (by hand) so your minky and flannel/fleece fabric are as flatly lined up as possible. Fold the fabric under at the gap, so that it lines up neatly with the rest of the fabric, and pin in place. Pin the rest of your blanket in place. Now, sew the gap together with about a 1/4 seam allowance and continue around the entire blanket to give it a nice edge and keep the pieces together.

11. Congrats! You have a Baseball Baby Blanket! If you will recall I had quite the boo-boo earlier so I had one more step. I needed to try and hide my mistake as best I could. So, I added on some iron-on embellishments. Feel free to customize the blanket and add embroidery or other customization, but DO NOT use iron-ons. (Remember the Dire Warning between step 7 and 8.) I could get away with this, because well, I had already F***ed up in the first place!

Awe! Look how pretty!

Awe! Look how pretty!

back of blanket

back of blanket

Overall, I am VERY happy with the way it turned out. I even think I managed to hide my mistake fairly well! So now my daughter has a University of Utah Football Baby Blanket and a Boston Red Sox Baseball Baby Blanket! I know this tutorial was a little… unusual… but I hope you enjoyed it and found it somewhat helpful!

baseball finished1

baseball finished

4 thoughts on “Baseball Baby Blanket

  1. I made the football blanket for my baby boy last fall and love it. I’m so happy I found this! My 6yo loves the Giants and is going to a game next month! It’s a night game and I wanted to make her a little throw to take with her, and this will be so great! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

